Board of Directors


Simon Grieve

Simon Grieve

Simon Grieve is publisher of Southern California News Group’s weekly Gazette Newspapers in Long Beach, The Beach Reporter in Hermosa Beach and Palos Verdes Peninsula News.

Erik Cushman Cropped

President Elect: Erik Cushman

Erik Cushman has been publisher of Monterey County Weekly since 2001 and has been with the newspaper since joining it as director of operations in 1999.

Paulette Brown Hinds 2

Immediate Past President:
Paulette Brown-Hinds

Paulette Brown-Hinds is publisher of the Black Voice News and managing partner of BPC MediaWorks, which she founded in 2004.


Arturo Carmona 2

Arturo Carmona

Arturo Carmona has been senior adviser at ImpreMedia’s La Opinión in Los Angeles since October 2017.

Emily Charrier 2

Emily Charrier

Emily Charrier is publisher of Sonoma Media Investments’ Petaluma Argus-Courier and Sonoma Index-Tribune. She is a former managing editor of The Argus-Courier and a former reporter at The Index-Tribune.

John Diaz 2

John Diaz

John Diaz has been editorial opinion editor at Hearst’s San Francisco Chronicle since 1990. Previously, he was assistant city editor and East Bay Bureau chief.

Dean Eckenroth 2

Dean Eckenroth

Dean Eckenroth is publisher of the Coronado Eagle & Journal and president of Eagle Newspapers, which also includes the Imperial Beach Eagle & Times. He was CNPA president in 2015.

Richard Esposito 2

Richard Esposito

Richard Esposito is publisher of The Mountain Democrat in Placerville and chief operating officer for its owner, McNaughton Newspapers.

Steve Falk 2

Steve Falk

Steve Falk is CEO of Sonoma Media Investments LLC, owner of the Press Democrat in Santa Rosa, Petaluma Argus-Courier and Sonoma Index-Tribune.

Will Fleet 2

Will Fleet

Will Fleet has been co-publisher of the Tracy Press since 2012. He was CNPA president in 2005.

Norb Garrett 2

Norb Garrett

Norb Garrett is publisher of Picket Fence Media’s San Clemente Times, Dana Point Times and The Capistrano Dispatch.

Jeff Glasser 2

Jeff Glasser

Jeff Glasser is vice president and senior counsel for the Los Angeles Times. Glasser chairs the CNPA Governmental Affairs Committee.

Craig Harrington 850x1075

Craig Harrington

Craig Harrington is publisher of The Intermountain News in Burney, Shasta County. He was CNPA president in 2000.

Ron Hasse 2

Ron Hasse

Ron Hasse is the publisher of the Orange County Register and president of the Southern California News Group. He was CNPA president in 2018-19.

Bill Johnson 2

Bill Johnson

Bill Johnson is publisher of the Palo Alto Weekly and CEO of Embarcadero Media. He was CNPA president in 2017-18.

Deitra Kenoly 2

Deitra Kenoly

Deitra Kenoly has been president and publisher of The Record in Stockton since October 2017.

Julie Makinen 2

Julie Makinen

Julie Makinen is executive editor of The Desert Sun in Palm Springs and Gannett’s state editor.

Jack Mitchell 2

Jack Mitchell

Jack Mitchell is publisher of the Ledger Dispatch in Jackson, Amador County.

Steve Nakutin 200x200

Steve Nakutin

Steve Nakutin has been general manager of Gannett’s Daily Press in Victorville since September 2019.

Hank Vander Veen 2

Hank Vander Veen

Hank Vander Veen is publisher of the Manteca Bulletin and group publisher of its adjacent weeklies operated by Morris Multimedia Inc.

Gary Wortel 2

Gary Wortel

Gary Wortel is president and publisher of The Sacramento Bee and McClatchy’s West regional publisher.