CNPA Mission Statement

To protect and serve the common interests of its newsmedia members, to help members inform and thereby strengthen their communities, and to foster the highest ideals, ethics and traditions of journalism, a free press and the news profession.

Press enter to begin your search

And then, the Irish Newsboys…

And then, the Irish Newsboys…

Irish Newsboys

The Irish Newsboys, a tuneful clan featuring local scribes and local rock legends, return Dec. 5 for a third year to the Cal Press Winter Meeting. They will entertain during the no-host social hour prior to the Thursday dinner and program.

The Newsboys sing for their supper, but if you’d like to stick around for the evening program, you’ll need to register and help Cal Press cover the dinner bill.

Awards to be given Thursday evening are the FAC Open Government Award (TBD), the Justus F. Craemer News Executive of the Year (to Caroline Titus, Ferndale Enterprise); and the Jack Bates Award for for distinguished service to the California press (TBD).

Though the Thursday keynote speaker is still to be confirmed, the Friday luncheon panel is set: “Ag in California’s heartland: Who’s telling the stories?”

This panel will discuss the declining news coverage of agriculture, an industry in California that feeds the world. The joke among farmers is that most Californians think their milk comes from grocery store shelves. But news agencies reducing their ag coverage is no joke. Who is telling the story of this vital industry … and to whom?

Panel: Joe L. Del Bosque, owner and president, Del Bosque Farms in Firebaugh; Tim Hearden, Redding-based editor, Western Farm Press; Ryan Jacobsen, CEO/executive director, Fresno County Farm Bureau; and Kaitlin Washburn, agriculture reporter for The Sun-Gazette, Exeter, and 2019 Report for America corps member. Moderator: Jim Boren, executive director, Fresno State Institute for Media and Public Trust and former executive editor, The Fresno Bee.

Awards to be given on Friday are: California Newspaper Hall of Fame (to inductees Almena Lomax, Los Angeles Tribune; and Ford A. Chatters, Lindsay Gazette); Philip N. McCombs Achievement Award (to Marty Weybret, former publisher, Lodi News-Sentinel) and Mark Twain Award for Journalism Excellence in California (to the late Jonathan Gold, Los Angeles Times).

The 142nd Annual Cal Press Winter Meeting is Dec. 5-6 at the Marines Memorial Club & Hotel in San Francisco. CNPA members are welcome to learn about and join Cal Press for the event.

Registration is now open. The Cal Press room block at the Marines’ Memorial Club & Hotel closes Nov. 20. Questions: Please contact Vanessa Henderson at 916-288-6017.