Board of Directors



President Bill Johnson is publisher of the Palo Alto Weekly and CEO of Embarcadero Media.

President Elect

President Elect Ron Hasse leads the Southern California News Group as publisher and president. Ron joined SCNG in October 2009, at the time known as the Los Angeles News Group, after serving for four years as the director of sales and marketing at the Los Angeles Times.

Vice President, Secretary-Treasurer

Vice President, Secretary-Treasurer Paulette Brown-Hinds is publisher of the Black Voice News and managing partner of BPC MediaWorks, which she founded in 2004.

Immediate Past President

Immediate Past President Michelle Chantry is a native Californian, born and raised in the San Fernando Valley. Chantry, who joined The Bakersfield Californian in March 2010, is CEO, CFO and president.


Bill Brehm Jr.

Bill Brehm Jr. has been president at Brehm Communications Inc. since 1995. He has served as general manager or publisher at several BCI publications.

John Burns

John Burns is publisher of the Petaluma Argus-Courier and heads the weekly division for Sonoma Media Investments LLC.

Toebe Bush

Toebe Bush is vice president of operations for Century Group Newspapers and publisher of the Record Gazette in Banning and Yucaipa/Calimesa News Mirror.

Chuck Champion

Chuck Champion, chairman and CEO of Paladin Multi-Media Group Inc., is president and publisher of The Signal in Santa Clarita.

Becky Clark

Becky Clark is editor, publisher, president and CEO of the Idyllwild Town Crier in Riverside County. She has been with The Town Crier since 1984.

Tom Cullinan

Tom Cullinan has been publisher and president of The Fresno Bee since December 2012. He joined The Bee in 1984.

Erik Cushman

Erik Cushman has been publisher of Monterey County Weekly since 2001 and has been with the newspaper since joining it as director of operations in 1999.

Dean Eckenroth

Dean Eckenroth is publisher of the Coronado Eagle & Journal and president of Eagle Newspapers, which also includes the Eagle & Times in Imperial Beach.

Richard Esposito

Richard Esposito is publisher of The Mountain Democrat in Placerville and chief operating officer for its owner, McNaughton Newspapers.

Steve Falk

Steve Falk is CEO of Sonoma Media Investments LLC, owner of the Press Democrat in Santa Rosa, Petaluma Argus-Courier and Sonoma Index-Tribune.

Will Fleet

Will Fleet has been co-publisher of the Tracy Press since 2012. He was CNPA president in 2005.

Jeff Glasser

Jeff Glasser is vice president and senior counsel for the Los Angeles Times. Glasser chairs the CNPA Governmental Affairs Committee.

Simon Grieve

Simon Grieve is publisher of Los Angeles News Group’s weekly Gazette Newspapers in Long Beach, The Beach Reporter in Hermosa Beach and Palos Verdes Peninsula News.

Craig Harrington

Craig Harrington is publisher of The Intermountain News in Burney, Shasta County. He was CNPA president in 2000.

David Herburger

David Herburger is publisher of Herburger Publications, Inc., whose newspapers include the Elk Grove Citizen, Galt Herald and River Valley Times. He is chairman of the Ad Networks Committee.

Pluria Marshall Jr.

Pluria Marshall Jr. is group publisher of Los Angeles Wave Publications Group, composed of 10 community newspapers.

Carin Salter

Carin Salter has been publisher of the weekly San Marino Tribune in Los Angeles County since September 2015.

Cynthia Schur

Cynthia Schur has been publisher of the Santa Maria Times and other Lee Central Coast Newspapers since 2003. Schur was CNPA president in 2012-13.

Brenda Speth

Brenda Speth has been publisher of the Napa Valley Register since July 2005. She also oversees Lee Enterprises’ St. Helena Star, Weekly Calistogan and American Canyon Eagle.

Mike Taborski

Mike Taborski is publisher of the Feather River Bulletin in Quincy and president of Feather Publishing’s Chester Progressive, Indian Valley Record (Greenville), Portola Reporter and Lassen County Times (Susanville).

Hank Vander Veen

Hank Vander Veen is publisher of the Manteca Bulletin and group publisher of its adjacent weeklies operated by Morris Multimedia Inc.