Cal Press presents annual awards

The California Press Foundation last week presented the Justus F. Craemer Newspaper Executives of the Year award to Jim and Lisa Rule, publishers of Acorn Newspapers in Los Angeles and Ventura counties.

Also honored were Dick Fogel, Charlotta Bass, Ben Bagdikian, Cheryl Brown and Marcia Parker.


Society of Professional Journalists’s L.A. chapter names Distinguished Journalist honorees
Among those to be honored next spring by the Greater Los Angeles chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists will be: Robin Abcarian, columnist at the Los Angeles Times; and Norberto Santana, founder and publisher of Voice of OC.

The Freedom of Information award will go to Kelly Aviles of Californians Aware, a nonprofit organization dedicated to open government, free speech and protected reporting.