CNPA Mission Statement

To protect and serve the common interests of its newsmedia members, to help members inform and thereby strengthen their communities, and to foster the highest ideals, ethics and traditions of journalism, a free press and the news profession.

Press enter to begin your search

Contest reprieve: Enter by this Friday

Contest reprieve: Enter by this Friday

California Journalism Awards 600x396Yes, there was a holiday for some on Monday. Yes, there’s flu going around. Yes, thin staffing is the norm.

We hear you. The deadline for entering the California Journalism Awards (formerly the CNPA Better Newspapers Contest) has been extended to 5 p.m. this Friday.

This is your absolute last chance to enter your best work from 2017.

Please review the entry instructions available online for information on how to register for the contest.

We’re using the BetterBNC system by, a CNPA Allied partner, for this year’s contest. Using the instructions from the link above, go to the BetterBNC website to get started uploading your entries.

Your login information from past contests won’t work, but creating a new registration is fast and easy. Please note the temporary password provided in the online instructions. You’ll need the temporary password to create your new registration.

Once registered and logged in, please make sure your publishing frequency (daily or weekly) and circulation are up to date so that you can compete in the correct division.

Also, please be aware that CNPA is emphasizing this year that your publication’s membership dues must be current before your contest entries are passed on to the judges. For information about your membership dues, please contact at (916) 288-6031.

CNPA membership dues may be paid online:


Campus members

And don’t forget contest rules require daily newspapers to provide two judges for the first round of judging. Weeklies and campus publications at four-year universities are required to provide one judge.

A registration form for submitting judges is .

This year’s main contest features seven new categories:

  • Public Service Journalism
  • In-Depth Reporting
  • Land-Use Reporting
  • Online Breaking News Coverage
  • Photojournalism
  • Special Publication
  • Special Section Cover

Complete descriptions of the categories and rules are available online:

Dailies and weeklies

Campus publications

General Excellence plaques will be presented at the California Journalism Awards luncheon on Saturday, April 14, 2018, during CNPA’s annual Press Summit at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa.

Need to make changes or have questions about the contest? Contact Simon Birch at (916) 288-6010.

Last year’s winners: