Contest site ready for entries

California Journalism Awards 600x396The contest entry system for the 2017 California Journalism Awards (formerly known as the CNPA Better Newspapers Contest) is now open.

Instructions for registering and uploading your entries are available online.

This year’s competition uses the BetterBNC system provided by SmallTownPapers, a CNPA Allied Partner.

Your login information from past contests won’t work, but creating a new registration is fast and easy. Once logged in, please make sure your publishing frequency (daily or weekly) and circulation are correct so that you can compete in the correct division.

Please call or email at (916) 288-6010 with changes or if you have questions about the contest.

California Journalism Awards categories and rules are available online if you did not receive your mailed entry packages in November.



Deadline for entries is Monday, Jan. 15, 2018, at 11:59 p.m. Contest period is Jan. 1, 2017, to Dec. 31, 2017.

There are seven new categories in the main contest this year:

  • Public Service Journalism
  • In-Depth Reporting
  • Land-Use Reporting
  • Online Breaking News Coverage
  • Photojournalism
  • Special Publication
  • Special Section Cover

General Excellence plaques will be presented at the California Journalism Awards luncheon on Saturday, April 14, 2018, during CNPA’s annual Press Summit at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa.