CNPA Mission Statement

To protect and serve the common interests of its newsmedia members, to help members inform and thereby strengthen their communities, and to foster the highest ideals, ethics and traditions of journalism, a free press and the news profession.

Press enter to begin your search

Days to contest deadline: 13

Days to contest deadline: 13

California Journalism Awards 600x396With the deadline fast approaching, it’s time to gather your best work from 2017 for the California Journalism Awards (formerly known as the CNPA Better Newspapers Contest).

Deadline for entries is Monday, Jan. 15. Entry instructions are available online.

We’re using the BetterBNC system provided by, a CNPA Allied partner, for this year’s contest.

To get started uploading your entries, go to the BetterBNC website.

Your login information from past contests won’t work, but creating a new registration is fast and easy. Please note the temporary password provided in the online instructions. You’ll need the temporary password to create your new registration.

Once logged in, please make sure your publishing frequency (daily or weekly) and circulation are up to date so that you can compete in the correct division.

Need to make changes or have questions about the contest? Call or email Simon Birch at (916) 288-6010.

This year’s main contest features seven new categories:

  • Public Service Journalism
  • In-Depth Reporting
  • Land-Use Reporting
  • Online Breaking News Coverage
  • Photojournalism
  • Special Publication
  • Special Section Cover

Complete descriptions of the categories and rules are also online:



General Excellence plaques will be presented at the California Journalism Awards luncheon on Saturday, April 14, 2018, during CNPA’s annual Press Summit at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa.

Last year’s winners:



Previously: Judges required for California Journalism Awards