Unnamed (2)

The California Press Foundation has named Steve Falk, publisher of The Press Democrat in Santa Rosa and CEO of Sonoma Media Investments, the Justus F. Craemer Newspaper Executive of the Year. 

The award will be presented during Cal Press’ 143rd Annual Winter Meeting, to be held from 2:30 to 4:30 p.m. Friday, Dec. 4 via Zoom. Details 

Falk is the 56th recipient of the award, which is given to publishers, editors-in-chief or equivalents who have involved themselves in the directions of the editorial and news side of their newspapers by showing exceptional editorial achievement. Their newspapers have made impacts on their community or influenced local, state or national concerns as a result of their journalistic effort. View The Press Democrat’s article 

The Cal Press event also will include presentation of these annual awards:

Philip N. McCombs Achievement Award: Cheryl Dell, former publisher, The Sacramento Bee


Mark Twain Award for Journalistic Excellence in California: David Perlman (1918-2020), science editor, San Francisco Chronicle

California Newspaper Hall of Fame: Frederick Madison Roberts (1879-1952), publisher, New Age; Los Angeles; and Arthur G. Kunkin (1928-2019), publisher, L.A. Free Press

Jack Bates Award for Distinguished Service to the Cal Press: Michael Belote and the late John O’Malley, longtime Capitol advocates for the newspaper industry in Sacramento

Also on the program, three guest speakers will offer insights and forecasts keying off the 2020 state legislative session. The topics will be:

  • “Funding News,” with Lauren Gustus, The Sacramento Bee;
  • “Distribution,” with Troy Niday, Sonoma Media Investments; and
  • “Public Notice,” with Richard Karpel, Public Notice Resource Center.

Admission is free, and donations are most welcome. Register now 

Read complete news release