Rules and categories for the 2020 California Journalism Awards have shipped and are online:




The contest website ( is now open. The deadline for entries is Monday, Jan. 25, 2021.

The California Journalism Awards uses the BetterBNC contest platform provided by SmallTownPapers, a CNPA Allied Member. 


The Digital Contest, now in its third year, is open to CNPA Digital News Media members and print members.

The audience divisions in this year’s Digital Contest have been adjusted from last year.

Here are new divisions:

Division A: 400,001 and over

Division B: 100,001-400,000

Division C: 100,000 and under

Please check your assigned division when you upload your entries. If we have you in the wrong division, contact the contest administrator as soon as possible.

Also returning this year is the Open Contest. Entries in the Open Contest categories will be the first-place winners from all circulation and audience divisions in the Print and Digital competitions in the following categories:

  • Columns
  • Enterprise News Story or Series
  • Feature Photo
  • Feature Story
  • In-Depth Reporting
  • Investigative Reporting
  • News Photo
  • Public Service Journalism
  • Separate entries in the Open Contest are not permitted.

CNPA will announce the awards in March 2021.

Questions about the contest? Contact contest administrator Jason Schaff,(916) 288-6023.