Skip to content

Last call for Cal Press honors

The California Press Foundation’s awards committees are preparing to weigh nominations for its Justus F. Craemer Newspaper Executive of the Year Award and its Philip N. McCombs Achievement Award.

If you have back-burnered your nomination of a colleague (or competitor), please complete that task this week.

The Justus F. Craemer Newspaper Executive of the Year Award recognizes the achievement of colleagues who have influence and impact on our industry, on their community and how they have represented our profession as a result of their journalistic effort.

The 2016 recipient was Dean Eckenroth, president of Eagle Newspapers in Coronado.

View all past winners

To nominate, email Craemer Award chair Pluria Marshall Jr. by this Friday a suggested name, a sentence or two about the person you’re recommending, and a suggestion of someone to contact who knows the nominee and would be able to provide a more detailed nomination letter.

The Philip N. McCombs Achievement Award honors distinguished newspaper executives who are no longer fully active in the industry. Qualifications include: a living person who has been an exemplar of ethical conduct, leadership and service to the newspaper industry and their community; one who has been a newspaper leader on the local, state or national level; and one who has been a community leader and has contributed, through the newspaper, to the enhancement of community life.

Last year’s honoree was Bruce B. Brugmann, former publisher of the San Francisco Bay Guardian.

View all past winners

Nominations, which should include qualifications as listed above and the nominee’s contact information, must be submitted no later than this Friday to McCombs Award chair Craig Harrington.

The awards will be presented during Cal Press’ 140th Annual Winter Meeting, Nov. 30-Dec.1 in San Francisco. For more about the California Press Foundation, and how to join, please visit

Previously: School’s in; scouting interns yet?

Scroll To Top