CNPA Mission Statement

To protect and serve the common interests of its newsmedia members, to help members inform and thereby strengthen their communities, and to foster the highest ideals, ethics and traditions of journalism, a free press and the news profession.

Press enter to begin your search

NNA members: Nominate for annual awards

NNA members: Nominate for annual awards

Is your newspaper an National Newspaper Association member? Then consider nominating a worthy colleague for the Amos, McKinney or Phillips award.

These are the NNA’s highest honors and are awarded to working and retired newspapermen and women who have exhibited distinguished service to the community press.

The General James O. Amos Award was established in 1938 by E.C. Amos, publisher of The Sidney Daily News, to honor his father, General James O. Amos, a pioneer Ohio journalist and an early-day member of the National Editorial Association.

The Emma C. McKinney Award was created in 1966 to honor Emma C. McKinney, co-publisher and editor of the Hillsboro (OR) Argus for 58 years. In 1954, Mrs. McKinney was named dean of Oregon newspapermen and women and in 1957 received the Amos Voorhies Award, the highest state honor that can be awarded to an Oregon newspaper person. Mrs. McKinney was inducted into the Oregon Journalism Hall of Fame in 1982.

The Daniel M. Phillips Leadership Award was established in 2007 to honor Daniel Morris “Dan” Phillips, an award-winning writer and photographer who passed away in 2005 at the age of 47.

Nominations are due by May 21. Get more information and forms.

The awards will be presented Sept. 29 in Norfolk, VA (NNA Convention & Trade Show).

Previous Amos honorees from California:

  • Justus Craemer, Orange, 1951
  • Lowell E. Jessen, Turlock, 1960
  • Telford Work, Los Angeles, 1978

Previous McKinney honorees from California:

  • Carmela T. Martin, Roseville, 1977
  • Marge Apperson, Mount Shasta, 1992
  • Sharon DiMauro, Fort Bragg, 2016