CNPA Mission Statement

To protect and serve the common interests of its newsmedia members, to help members inform and thereby strengthen their communities, and to foster the highest ideals, ethics and traditions of journalism, a free press and the news profession.

Press enter to begin your search

Last call: Nominate by May 20 for F.O.I. Award

Last call: Nominate by May 20 for F.O.I. Award

Dan Laidman

CNPA is seeking nominees for its 2020 Freedom of Information Award. 
Nominees from CNPA-member companies should possess a continuing commitment to the public’s right to know and may be honored for a recent effort or a lifetime’s work.

CNPA presented its 2019 award to attorney Dan Laidman, Davis Wright Tremaine LLP, for defending the press and fighting on behalf of media companies, journalists and the public for access to court proceedings and government records. Also honored were CNPA General Counsel Jim Ewert and former Legal Counsel Nikki Moore for their heavy lift in pushing SB 1421, the police records access bill, through the state Legislature to approval.

The 2020 winner will be chosen by the CNPA Executive Committee and Governmental Affairs Committee Chair Jeff Glasser. 

To nominate someone for this award, send an email message identifying the person, the reasons he or she should be honored, along with supporting articles and information to CNPA General Counsel Jim Ewert by noon Wednesday, May 20.