CNPA Mission Statement

To protect and serve the common interests of its newsmedia members, to help members inform and thereby strengthen their communities, and to foster the highest ideals, ethics and traditions of journalism, a free press and the news profession.

Press enter to begin your search

Resolve to file contest entries early

Resolve to file contest entries early

California Journalism Awards 600x396The 2017 California Journalism Awards competition is underway and several newspapers have begun uploading their entries well ahead of the Monday, Jan. 15, 2018, deadline.

Entry instructions are available online if you want to get started.

This year’s competition uses the BetterBNC system provided by, a CNPA Allied Partner.

Your login information from past contests won’t work, but creating a new registration is fast and easy. Please note the temporary password provided in the online instructions. You’ll need the temporary password to create your new registration.

Once logged in, please make sure your publishing frequency (daily or weekly) and circulation are up to date so that you can compete in the correct division.

Complete descriptions of the categories and rules are also online:



This year’s main contest features seven new categories:

  • Public Service Journalism
  • In-Depth Reporting
  • Land-Use Reporting
  • Online Breaking News Coverage
  • Photojournalism
  • Special Publication
  • Special Section Cover

And a rule change this year allows newspapers to enter the same story, series or photographs in multiple categories.

General Excellence plaques will be presented at the California Journalism Awards luncheon on Saturday, April 14, 2018, during CNPA’s annual Press Summit at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa.

View last year’s winners:



Questions? Call or email Simon Birch, (916) 288-6010.

Previously: Judges required for California Journalism Awards